• Maya Linnell

Ali Lowe on school choirs, partner-swapping and proof reading

Featuring a swingers group, a school fundraiser and a woman hellbent on revenge, The Trivia Night delivers decadent insights into a traditionally taboo topic. The fresh premise had me hooked the moment I heard about it and I raced through this enjoyable novel quite quickly.

Readers should bring the popcorn and enjoy the ride as the perfect storm builds in the idyllic suburb of Darley Heights. As well as humour and plenty of entertainment, this story addresses darker social issues, with enough twists and turns to keep you gripped throughout and an alternating character perspective. Many thanks to Hachette for sending me an early copy of this fab debut.




Author spotlight

with Ali Lowe


Do you have a good luck charm or a special token that sits on your desk/in your office?

A postcard signed by Daphne du Maurier with Menabilly House on the front (her inspiration for Rebecca’s Manderley); a photo of my husband and kids, and a polaroid of me as a very chubby baby with my dad.


Favourite exercise to counteract all the hours sitting at the keyboard?

Body Pump at the gym. I’ve been a little slack lately, but I’m planning to get back to it now the launch week mania has calmed a little.


What’s your go-to weekday dinner dish?

Salmon on the barbeque with salad or a quick stir-fry.


Which career would you choose if money wasn’t a factor and writing wasn’t an option?

This is a hard one! I’ll say a proof reader, so I could at least read the books if I couldn’t write them….


Chocolate, potato chips or cheese?

Cheese. I was intolerant as a teen so I’m making up for it in adulthood. Best served on a cracker with a dollop of Branston pickle.


Have you done anything special with any of your advances?

I bought a first edition of Rebecca from 1938 – it’s the original domestic noir!


Spot where you seem to get the best bursts of inspiration?

Anywhere really, but I’ve had a few good ones in the car on the school run. I pop them in my phone notes so I can decipher them when I get home.


Agent or no agent?

I have a London-based agent.


Do you have a writing ‘uniform’?

Anything comfy, but usually some kind of gym gear.


Aussie novel you’re most looking forward to in 2022?

Sally Hepworth’s next novel, which I think is called The Cliff. I love anything from Sally.


Best one-line sentence from one of your book reviews?

‘This is a fast-paced thriller filled with family drama and revenge that will keep you up all night – worth five stars!’


Share a quirky habit or something readers might be surprised to discover about you.

I took singing lessons as a teen and was in the elite school choir. I can still belt out a decent rendition of Tonight from West Side Story!


Where can people find you online?

Mostly on Instagram at @ali_lowe_author. You can also find me on Facebook and Twitter, or at my website https://www.aliloweauthor.com


The Trivia Night

Question: How long does it take to tear someone's life apart?


Answer: Sometimes just one night.


From the outside the parents of the kindergarten class at Darley Heights primary school seem to have it all. Living in the wealthy Sydney suburbs, it's a community where everyone knows each other - and secrets don't stay secret for long.


The big date in the calendar is the school's annual fundraising trivia night, but when the evening gets raucously out of hand, talk turns to partner-swapping. Initially scandalised, it's not long before a group of parents make a reckless one-night-only pact.


But in the harsh light of day, those involved must face the fallout of their behaviour. As they begin to navigate the shady aftermath of their wild night, the truth threatens to rip their perfect lives apart - and revenge turns fatal.


THE TRIVIA NIGHT is a gripping, domestic page-turner full of shocking reveals, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Sally Hepworth.


BUY IT NOW

Ali Lowe

Ali Lowe has been a journalist for 20 years. She has written for bridal magazines, parenting titles, websites and newspapers in London and then Australia, after she moved to Sydney fourteen years ago on a trip that was meant to last a year. She was Features Editor at OK! in London, where she memorably stalked celebrities in Elton John's garden at his annual White Tie and Tiara ball.


Ali lives on the northern beaches of Sydney with her husband and three young children.



WIN - WIN - WIN


Head to the WIN page for your chance to win a copy of The Trivia Night, thanks to Hachette. Contest closes March 14. Aussie addresses and newsletter subscribers only, please.